Free Articles, Free Web Content, Reprint Articles
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
 
Free Articles, Free Web Content, Reprint ArticlesRegisterAll CategoriesTop AuthorsSubmit Article (Article Submission)ContactSubscribe Free Articles, Free Web Content, Reprint Articles
 

Vegetarian: The Difference Between Vegan & Vegetarian

If you recently started reading about vegetarian diets, you have probably read all sorts of strange vegetarian terms and categories like "vegan," "ovo-lacto vegetarian," and "semi-vegetarian." You probably wondered what the big deal was. Afterall, what is so conceptually tough about not eating meat?

If you recently started reading about vegetarian diets, you have probably read all sorts of strange vegetarian terms and categories like "vegan," "ovo-lacto vegetarian," and "semi-vegetarian." You probably wondered what the big deal was. Afterall, what is so conceptually tough about not eating meat?And you were right!The distinctions between these sub-categories of vegetarian are actually small, but each is very important to members who belong to the groups. For them, these distinctions arenít arbitrary lines; they are important dietary or ethical decisions.Letís take a look at some of these groups:VEGETARIAN:Vegetarian is a blanket term used to describe a person who does not consume meat, poultry, fish, or seafood. This grouping includes vegans and the various sub-categories of vegetarian; however, it generally implies someone who has less dietary restrictions than a vegan.SEMI-VEGETARIAN:The term semi-vegetarian is usually used to describe someone who is not actually a vegetarian. Semi-vegetarian generally implies someone who only eats meat occasionally or doesnít eat meat, but eats poultry and fish.OVO-LACTO-VEGETARIAN:Ovo-lacto vegetarians are vegetarians who do not consume meat, poultry, fish, and seafoodFind Article, but do consume eggs and milk. This is the largest group of vegetarians.OVO-VEGETARIAN:Ovo-vegetarian is a term used to describe someone who would be a vegan if they did not consume eggs.LACTO-VEGETARIAN:Lacto-vegetarian is a term used to describe someone who would be a vegan if they did not consume milk.VEGAN:Vegan is the strictest sub-category of vegetarians. Vegans do not consume any animal products or byproducts. Some even go as far as not consuming honey and yeast. Others do not wear any clothing made from animal products.Take some time to figure out what group you will belong to when you become a vegetarian. You will want to consider both dietary and ethical reasons for choosing this lifestyle.

Source: Free Articles from ArticlesFactory.com

ABOUT THE AUTHOR


Get all your delicious vegetarian recipes here! Here at eBooksilverfish, we provide all the Best eBooks at the† best possible prices we can afford to, 24/7! In other words, you save† more $$ and time, as you don't have to search elsewhere on the internet† for similar eBooks! We do all the work for you!



Health
Business
Finance
Travel
Technology
Home Repair
Computers
Marketing
Autos
Family
Entertainment
Law
Education
Communication
Other
Sports
ECommerce
Home Business
Self Help
Internet
Partners


Page loaded in 0.024 seconds