Free Articles, Free Web Content, Reprint Articles
Monday, June 24, 2019
 
Free Articles, Free Web Content, Reprint ArticlesRegisterAll CategoriesTop AuthorsSubmit Article (Article Submission)ContactSubscribe Free Articles, Free Web Content, Reprint Articles
 

Pregnancy - The Vegetarian Mom-to-Be

Being pregnant does not mean you have to give up your vegetarian life­style. However, just as with any other eating style, if you are following a vegetarian diet during pregnancy, you must ensure that you get well-balanced and varied meals.

 Although the typical vegetarian diet is very low in saturated fat and cholesterol, not all diets are low in calories, total fat, or sugar. Some can also be lacking in other essential vitamins and minerals unless they are properly planned.What Type Are You?Before discussing the pros and cons of following a vegetarian diet during pregnancy, it is necessary to be aware that there are difference types of vegetarian diets. People turn to vegetarian diets for all kinds of reasons, including religious, ethical, environmental, and personal health concerns. For some, vegetarianism is simply a way of eating while for others it is a way of life. There are different types of vegetarian eating styles, and each one differs as to what nutrients may be missing and what adjustments might be necessary to ensure optimal nutritional intake during pregnancy.Vegetarianism is a type of eating style that is a matter of personal choice. Some people choose to avoid all animal products, while others may choose to consume some animal foods such as eggs and/or dairy products (lacto-ovo vegetarian). Only a small percentage of vegetarians are strict vegetarians, or vegans, who avoid all animal products. The majority of vegetarians in the United States fit into the lacto-ovo vegetarian category.Vegetarians are classified into several different categories, as follows:Vegan or strict vegetarian-Absolutely no animal foods, including meat, fish, poultry, eggs, milk, or other dairy products. Also, no foods made with any type of animal product, such as refried beans made with lard or baked goods made with eggs.Lacto vegetarian-Dairy foods permitted, but no other animal foods including eggs and meat (meat, poultry, fish, and seafood.)Lacto-ovo vegetarian-Dairy foods and eggs permitted, but no other animal foods, including meats (meat, poultry, fish, and seafood).Semi-vegetarian-A mostly vegetarian diet (lacto-ovo-vegetarian), but meat, poultryArticle Search, or fish permitted occasionally.

Source: Free Articles from ArticlesFactory.com

ABOUT THE AUTHOR


For more Pregnancy tips. Check out the digital vaporizer and health doctor information



Health
Business
Finance
Travel
Technology
Home Repair
Computers
Marketing
Autos
Family
Entertainment
Law
Education
Communication
Other
Sports
ECommerce
Home Business
Self Help
Internet
Partners


Page loaded in 0.016 seconds