Connecticut Auto Insurance

Jan 8 15:42 2012 Ricky Hussey Print This Article

Each state has its own driving laws, including ones regarding the purchase and ownership of car insurance. If you have just moved to Connecticut or if you are planning to purchase your vehicle in this state, you have to be familiar with the Connecticut auto insurance regulations. Read on to find out how to comply with them.

In order to be able to register your vehicle in this state,Guest Posting you have to show valid proof of auto insurance. This means that you have to purchase a policy that meets the Connecticut auto insurance requirements, right after you purchase your car and before you get to drive it.
You are legally obliged to have bodily injury liability coverage and property damage liability coverage in this state. Furthermore, all household members driving the vehicle must have separate liability insurance policies. They must have proof of their personal liability coverage with them at all times, when driving the vehicle. Basically, each person who drives in your family has to have individual liability coverage, irrespective of whether he/she is the owner of the car or not.

There are minimum requirements regarding the amount of liability coverage you can purchase. The Connecticut auto insurance regulations state that the minimum amount of bodily injury liability coverage per person every driver should have is $20,000. The minimum amount of bodily injury liability per accident is $40,000. The minimum property damage liability coverage you have to purchase is $10,000.

This state requires all drivers to purchase uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage and underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage. The respective minimum amounts of coverage are $20,000 and $40,000. Drivers are allowed to purchase combined coverage that will protect them financially, in case an uninsured or an underinsured driver is found to be at fault for their injuries.

According to the Connecticut auto insurance regulations, you are not obliged to purchase no-fault car insurance. In this state, the driver at fault is automatically considered responsible for paying the medical expenses related to the treatment of the bodily injuries caused to other drivers and passengers involved in the accident. Furthermore, the victims have the legal right to seek compensation for additional damages and losses caused by the party at fault.

Provided that you and every driver in your family purchase the minimum amounts of liability coverage and uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage and underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage, you will comply with the Connecticut auto insurance requirements.

Source: Free Guest Posting Articles from

About Article Author

Ricky Hussey
Ricky Hussey is a leading auto insurance in Maine source. Click for more information on cheap auto insurance and other informative topics.

View More Articles