Auto Insurance in Texas Monitored through Texas Sure

Apr 6 19:32 2013 Cedric Loiselle Print This Article


Accidents can happen anytime,Guest Posting anywhere. When they do happen and you are driving in Texas, the law requires that you pay for the accident that you cause. This is true for most states in the country, and even for other countries. Depending on the party at fault, the damages caused by the accident shall be paid by the errant driver. If you have car insurance, and your car was involved in an accident, the resulting damage from the accident shall be paid for by the insurance company. To comply with Texas law, most drivers buy vehicle liability insurance as this type of insurance will pay for the repair or replacement of the other driver’s car damaged from the accident. Similarly, this type of insurance will pay for other people’s medical expenses if you are the errant driver.

 

In order to comply with the Texas financial responsibility law, you should buy at least the minimum insurance amount. The present insurance limits on liability are set at $30,000 per injured person, up to $60,000 for every accident, and $25,000 for damage to property per accident. In insurance jargon, this is called 30/60/25 coverage. There are some auto insurance in Texas that will offer additional coverage on top of the basic coverage. This is because is most accident claims cases, the basic coverage amount which is required by Texas law, is not enough to pay for all the medical expenses or damage to property resulting from the accident. Hence, most Texas car insurance companies convince car owners to increase their liability limit, or bundle the policy with a separate coverage that will help augment the incurred expenses after an accident and in effect provide you protection from potential financial disaster or crisis.

 

When you buy auto insurance in Texas, the insurance company will send you a proof-of-insurance card. This card may be used when renewing registration of your car or driver’s license, when your car is inspected, during an accident, or when a police officer asks for it. Texas car insurance companies are required by the Texas Department of Public Safety to submit a report every week to the TexasSure vehicle identification system where the Vehicle Identification Number or VIN of every insured vehicle under an active policy is contained in the report. This is one way to make sure that vehicle drivers continue to comply with the Financial Responsibility requirements. 

 

TexasSure is a joint project developed by the Texas Department of Public Safety or DPS, the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles or TxDMV, the Texas Department of Information Resources or DIR, and Texas Department of Insurance or TDI and mandated by the 79th Texas Legislature with one objective – to lessen the number of motor vehicles without insurance. Through TexasSure, law enforcers have real-time access to insurance data on any vehicle at any given time.

 

And like any other law, there are corresponding penalties for non-compliance with the state’s financial responsibility laws. First offenders will be fined from $175 to $350. If offender commits more than one offense, a fine of $350 to $1,000 will be charged to the offender, or driver’s license will be suspended, or the vehicle will be impounded by the authorities.  

Source: Free Guest Posting Articles from ArticlesFactory.com

About Article Author

Cedric Loiselle
Cedric Loiselle

For more information about auto insurance in texas and texas car insurance companies visit our website cheapautoinsurancecenter.net.

View More Articles