Fifa World Cup 2010 Qualifying Rounds Start From February 2009 This Year

Jan 13 08:54 2009 Peri Witny Print This Article

Fixtures for the qualifying rounds this year for the FIFA World Cup 2010 will start from 11 February 2009. The Qualifying rounds for this big event already started last year, with the preliminary rounds which began in August 2007 in the Oceanian Zone. The participating teams go through to qualify for the FIFA World Cup Finals, also known as the FIFA World Cup.

The qualifying rounds are a process for national football soccer,Guest Posting with teams competing to enter the final football world cup. This year, 31 teams will be chosen for the final 2010 FIFA World Cup to be held in South Africa along with the host team.

A total of 200 teams have entered in the qualifying rounds to compete for one of the 31 places for the final World Cup. These teams play in their own continents, at a national level and the tournaments are held within the six FIFA continental zones, namely Africa, Asia, North America, Central America and Caribbean, South America, Oceania and Europe. A pre decided number of spots is reserved for teams from each of these FIFA Continental Zones. In 2010, 5 spots have been allocated for Africa, with 1 spot reserved for the Host team. Asia got 4.5 spots, with Oceania getting 0.5 spots. Europe got the most spots allocated this year which are 13, and North and Central America and Caribbean getting 3.5, with South America getting 4.5 spots.

The number of teams entering from each continent includes 53 from Africa, 43 from Asia, 11 from Oceania, 53 from Europe, 35 from North and Central America and Caribbean and 10 from South America. This makes the total entrants this year to be 205, with South Africa qualifying as the hosts. They will compete on the CAF qualifying rounds for the FIFA World Cup 2010, making them the first hosts to compete in the World Cup since 1934.

The February fixtures will be held on 11 February 2009, with 10 different qualifying matches taking place between different teams. These include USA vs. Mexico, Iran vs. Korean Republic, Korea DPR vs. Saudi Arabia, Uzbekistan vs. Bahrain, El Salvador vs. Trinidad and Tobago, Japan vs. Australia, Malta vs. Albania, Ireland vs. Georgia, Costa Rica vs. Honduras, and San Mario vs. Northern Ireland.

The next qualifying rounds are scheduled to take place from 28 March 2009 to 1 April 2009, then from 6 June to 10 June 2009, 20 June to 21 June 2009, 5 September to 9 September 2009, 10 October to 14 October 2009 and then the final qualifying rounds will take place from 14 November to 18 November 2009, with the final soccer results for the qualifying rounds being announced on 19 November 2009.

These qualifying teams will play in the 19th FIFA World Cup to be held in 2010. This big soccer and football event will take place between 11 June and 11 July 2010, in South Africa and will be held at 10 different venues in 9 different cities. Stay in touch with all soccer results for these qualifying soccer fixtures for FIFA World Cup 2010.

Source: Free Guest Posting Articles from

About Article Author

Peri Witny
Peri Witny

Peri Witny is an author of Sports Articles at

You can log on to ScoresPro for checking live soccer results.

View More Articles