What You Need To Know About Car Insurance
There are certain considerations for getting the best Tennessee car insurance. Cost is a big factor, but not the only one. Getting a low cost policy that doesn't give the coverage you require is not r...
Like most states, Tennessee requires auto coverage. They don't require proof to be presented when registering your car for the first time, or for renewal of the registration. Even though proof doesn't have to be shown to get registered, coverage is required by the state, and a driver must be prepared to present proof of coverage when asked for it by an officer, either during a routine stop or after an accident.
Minimum requirements for liability coverage is designated, but other coverage can be obtained, and is sometimes required by others. Some businesses who hire a person for driving for deliveries or other business may require higher than the state minimum. If a loan is obtained on a car, the loan company will more than likely require comprehensive and collision coverage to protect their interest in the car.
There are two ways to establish financial responsibility to the state department. One way is to buy the minimum coverage they require. The other is to post a bond or cash deposit guaranteeing that you are able to cover at least the charges specified as minimum.
Proof of insurance or financial responsibility should be shown when pulled over by a law enforcement officer, or when you are in an accident. Thus, you should carry either the card issued to you by your insurer, or the card issued to you from the state department proving you have verified financial responsibility.
Penalties for not carrying sufficient coverage can be quite high. Fines are under $100, but the license is suspended, and registration is prevented from renewal. To be able to register your vehicle, you will need to pay the fine, get coverage or post financial responsibility proof, get the license reinstated, and then the vehicle can be registered.
Rates for Tennessee car insurance are quite high. This is due to a number of factors. Some of these include high speed limits (70 mph), blood alcohol limit of 0.08, prohibiting open containers for the driver only and not passengers, and more lenient provisions in reference to DUI regulations. Cell phone usage being permitted is also a factor. All these tend to make accidents more common, and any damages related to them higher. This means it is even more important to check for lowest rates.
Article Tags: Financial Responsibility
Source: Free Articles from ArticlesFactory.com
ABOUT THE AUTHOR
http://www.onlineautoinsurance.com is a leading auto insurance in Maine source. Click for more information on cheap auto insurance and other informative topics.