Free Articles, Free Web Content, Reprint Articles
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
 
Free Articles, Free Web Content, Reprint ArticlesRegisterAll CategoriesTop AuthorsSubmit Article (Article Submission)ContactSubscribe Free Articles, Free Web Content, Reprint Articles
 

GLUTEN FREE WINE, GLUTEN FREE BEER and GLUTEN FREE LIQUOR, Do they exist and does it matter?

ALL beers need to be gluten free if you are celiac or gluten intolerant. Although you should be careful when drinking wine as sometimes gluten can sneak in during the manufacturing process … this article explains it all.

Eating only gluten free products is vital to any celiac or gluten intolerant person, so what about alcohol in general?  

Firstly it appears that there are three distinct types: General liquor, gf beer and gf wines. 

GLUTEN FREE ALCOHOL

Many articles suggest that as long as alcoholic beverages are not based on wheat or other gluten grains that they will be without gluten. They suggest using liquors such as grappa (made from grapes), ouzo (aniseed, fennel seed aromatic plants ) rum (sugar Cane ), sake (rice ) etc. Other articles have suggested that the protein is destroyed in the distillation process so that all alcoholic beverages will be gf. 

However a 1992 Flemish Celiac Society report found gluten in several varieties of distilled liquor. The levels varied from zero to 200-mg gluten/liter with the highest amount in "Creme de Framboise" (200 mg/liter) and French brandy VSOP had 180 m g/liter. Subsequently, sites have speculated that the "protein might be derived from the caramel coloring" and suggests that it is best for celiacs to "abstain from brown colored liquor"

There is a note of caution that the detection of gluten in alcoholic drinks is very unreliable as "the proteins could have been broken down to small (but still toxic) peptides and in that case a sandwich-type ELISA might produce false negative results because in that case you always need to two epitopes (binding sites for the antiserum) on one molecule to get a positive reaction."

The difficulty with general liqueurs is that since this has not been recognized as a major problem in society, and as testing is difficult and potentially expensive, liquor makers are unlikely to test and label their products as gf any time soon. Your best option appears to be either to avoid liquor altogether or choose types not based on g grains, such as whiskeys.

GLUTEN FREE BEER

The beer area seems relatively clear cut. In the same study as above "The beer test, which consisted of a set of 50 different brands, showed that most brands (35) did contain immunoreactive protein in amounts between 1 and 200 mg/liter. Only 15 contained less than 1 mg/liter. There was a strong correlation between the protein content and whether wheat had been used as an ingredient!"

The Technical Officer of The Coeliac Society of Australia also agrees by saying that " the (beer) brewing process unfortunately does not render ‘normal' beer gf"

"Beer contains Gluten, either in the grains used within the brewing process, or even the yeast itself may be grown in a medium which contains Gluten. Therefore if you are a Celiac, you can not drink Beer that contains Gluten otherwise you will become sick."

All articles are definitive on the point that if a celiac wishes to drink beer, they must drink gluten free beer only.

GLUTEN FREE WINE

WINE is one of the most contentious areas of the liquor industry. The majority of articles suggest that wine is naturally free of gluten as it is made from grapes and no grains are involved in the preservative process. However other articles suggest a different story."Some wines are aged in barrels that once contained another substance that could have held a glutinous product. This is rare, but can happen. Also you will want to avoid Wine Coolers. Wine Coolers are NOT GF, because they contain barely malt."

"There is also some concern with cross contamination with wines that involves the practice of sealing the barrels with a flour/water paste that is common with European Union barrel manufacturers. Most US based manufactures currently use a neutral food grade paraffin to seal the barrels during the construction process, but there are some manufacturers that import and use the flour/water based barrels."

A hard paste that is part of the wheat glue may not be fully removed in the cleaning process and that you can mostly trust wines that are "almost always" made without a barrel aging process such as: "Whites - Riesling, Sauvignon Blanc from New Zealand, Italian Pinot Grigio, Bag-In-The-Box wines; and Reds: Bag-In-The-Box wines."

Many wineries list themselves as gluten free but this is because their cafes provide gluten free food. And this is often a matter of just including special bread in their offerings. While rare, but still in existence, are wineries that also sell wine labeled as g free.

It is suggested that while gluten contamination of wines in America may be relatively rare that a celiac should consider asking wine makers if the wine is gf, if it is then ask if it is certified by a gf authority. If they don't know if it is, then maybe you should ask what kind of barrels they use? And so the end of this story is one of ‘better safe than sorry'Business Management Articles, especially if you have been so good with avoiding gluten in the rest of your diet!

References 

Ref 1 http://www.celiac.com/articles/328/1/Does-Distillation-Remove-All-Gluten/Page1.html

Ref 2 http://www.coeliacsociety.com.au/downloads/I4%20-%20December%2006%20Your%20Questions.pdf

Ref 3 http://gfkitchen.server101.com/GFAlcohol.htm

Ref 4 http://www.beerguide.com.au/articles/gluten-free-beer

Source: Free Articles from ArticlesFactory.com

ABOUT THE AUTHOR


I have a strong interest in healthy foods, particularly those that are gluten free. However my strongest desire is to be working in the sustainability industry which causes large reductions in greenhouse gases. For similar articles please visit the original articles page at http://www.glutenfreepages.com.au



Health
Business
Finance
Travel
Technology
Home Repair
Computers
Marketing
Autos
Family
Entertainment
Law
Education
Communication
Other
Sports
ECommerce
Home Business
Self Help
Internet
Partners


Page loaded in 0.094 seconds