Getting behind the bars for an underage DWI can often be a demoralizing situation in which case a DWI Attorney Houston comes to the rescue.
The penal provisions for a underage DWI offense are more severe and restrictive than those formulated for adults. The Texas Penal Code follows a Zero Tolerance Policy while dealing with cases associated with DWI offense for minors. This means that any minor caught for driving a vehicle with any amount of detectable alcohol content in their system is punishable with a DWI or DUI charge. The applicable rules and regulations relating to such policy is best known by a†DWI Attorney Houston who is capable and experienced in this matter. He knows the associated legal charges that can be imposed upon a convict for such an offense and also the tips and tricks of how to get freed from its charges.
Implied Consent Laws Those who have been earlier convicted of a DWI offense and had to take the help of professional DWI lawyers must be aware of the concept of implied consent law”. This term indicates that when a person obtained a driving license from the Department of Motor Vehicles there is an implied condition that he shall voluntarily submit to any chemical test required to be conducted by legal officials for the purpose of ascertaining the mental and physical stability of the person behind the wheels. However, there is an exclusive right provided to the people of Texas regarding the right to submit to any field sobriety test except under certain situations. These situations can only be tactfully handled by a DWI Attorney Houston who will be able to provide sensible advice to his client upon failing to consent with the laws of Texas. Such situations become even harsher for a second and subsequent offense and the convict might have to pay heavily for its consequences in the absence of a professional legal help.
Getting Behind The Bars In worst case situations, even a minor might have to serve jail terms for a period ranging from a day to a year in addition to a fine not exceeding $500 for getting convicted of a DWI offense. Not only this, the minor will be under a probation period of minimum 3 years extendable up to 5 years. This can be mentally demoralizing for a person below the age of 21 years and in such situations a DWI Attorney Houston with all experience and knowledge will try to relieve his client from undergoing such severe penal charges. By filing a plea request before the Court he will try to compensate the jail terms with monetary penalty and have the jail sentence dropped. There are other possible ways by which such a jail sentence can be dropped and such alternatives are known best by a professional representative who is experienced in such matter.