Free Articles, Free Web Content, Reprint Articles
Tuesday, December 7, 2021
Free Articles, Free Web Content, Reprint ArticlesRegisterAll CategoriesTop AuthorsSubmit Article (Article Submission)ContactSubscribe Free Articles, Free Web Content, Reprint Articles

Capability Maturity Model

The Capability Maturity Model (CMM) is a methodology used to develop and refine an organization's software development process. The model describes a five-level evolutionary path of increasingly organized and systematically more mature processes.

CMM was developed and is promoted by the Software Engineering Institute (SEI), a research and development center sponsored by the U.S. Department of Defense. SEI was founded in 1984 to address software engineering issues and, in a broad sense, to advance software engineering methodologies. More specifically, SEI was established to optimize the process of developing, acquiring, and maintaining heavily software-reliant systems for the DoD. Because the processes involved are equally applicable to the software industry as a whole, SEI advocates industry-wide adoption of the CMM.

The CMM is similar to ISO 9001, one of the ISO 9000 series of standards specified by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO). The ISO 9000 standards specify an effective quality system for manufacturing and service industries; ISO 9001 deals specifically with software development and maintenance. The main difference between the two systems lies in their respective purposes: ISO 9001 specifies a minimal acceptable quality level for software processes, while the CMM establishes a framework for continuous process improvement and is more explicit than the ISO standard in defining the means to be employed to that end.

Levels of the CMM:

Maturity Level 1 - Initial

Maturity Level 2 - Repeatable           

   Requirements Management           

    Software Project Planning           

    Software Project Tracking and Oversight                       

    Software Subcontractor Management           

    Software Quality Assurance           

   Software Configuration Management

Maturity Level 3 - Defined           

   Organization Process Focus           

   Organization Process Definition           

   Training Program           

   Integrated Software Management           

   Software Product Engineering           

   Intergroup Coordination           

   Peer Reviews

Maturity Level 4 - Managed           

   Quantitative process management           

   Software quality management

Maturity Level 5 - Optimizing           

    Defect prevention           

    Technology change management           

    Process change management           

    Structure of CMM           

    Maturity Levels

Framework of Capability Maturity Model: A layered framework providing a progression to the discipline needed to engage in continuous improvement (It is important to state here that an organization develops the ability to assess the impact of a new practice, technology, or tool on their activity. Hence it is not a matter of adopting these; rather it is a matter of determining how innovative efforts influence existing practices. This really empowers projects, teams, and organizations by giving them the foundation to support reasoned choice.)

Key Process Areas Key process area (KPA) identifies a cluster of related activities that, when performed collectively, achieve a set of goals considered important.

Goals The goals of a key process area summarize the states that must exist for that key process area to have been implemented in an effective and lasting way. The extent to which the goals have been accomplished is an indicator of how much capability the organization has established at that maturity level. The goals signify the scope, boundaries, and intent of each key process area.

Common Features Common features include practices that implement and institutionalize a key process area. These five types of common features include: Commitment to Perform, Ability to Perform, Activities Performed, Measurement and AnalysisFree Web Content, and Verifying Implementation.

Key Practices The key practices describe the elements of infrastructure and practice that contribute most effectively to the implementation and institutionalization of the key process areas.

Source: Free Articles from


Vinay ChoubeySEO ManagerFor more details on Capability Maturity Model visit at and For information on Books visit:

Home Repair
Home Business
Self Help

Page loaded in 0.021 seconds