Free Articles, Free Web Content, Reprint Articles
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
 
Free Articles, Free Web Content, Reprint ArticlesRegisterAll CategoriesTop AuthorsSubmit Article (Article Submission)ContactSubscribe Free Articles, Free Web Content, Reprint Articles
 

Learn About Auto Insurance in Missouri

Each state has its own unique set of quirks when it comes to auto insurance. If you are ready to reach driving age in Missouri or you're moving to Missouri from another state it makes sense to learn about these requirements. Once you learn about auto insurance in Missouri you'll find that it has a few similarities and some differences from other states.

Each state has its own unique set of quirks when it comes to auto insurance. If you are ready to reach driving age in Missouri or you're moving to Missouri from another state it makes sense to learn about these requirements. Once you learn about auto insurance in Missouri you'll find that it has a few similarities and some differences from other states.

One of the most important requirements you will want to be aware of is that Missouri requires you to maintain liability and property damage for your vehicle. This is true of 46 other states so unless you are moving to Missouri from Wisconsin, Florida, or New Hampshire you should already be familiar with the concept of mandatory auto insurance.

You should also know that the state of Missouri not only requires you to maintain auto insurance on your vehicle, they also require a minimum amount of insurance you must keep. All states are different in this regard, so it pays to know the minimum limits for your state. For instance, in Texas the limits are 30/60/30 (liability/property) but in Pennsylvania the limits are 15/30/5 (liability/property). So, as you can see, the required amounts vary greatly. If you are a resident of Missouri the minimum limits of insurance are 25/50/10, meaning you must maintain $25,000 in liability for a single person, $50,000 for a single accident, and $10,000 in property damage per accident. All auto insurance policies written in Missouri must conform to these minimum limits, but it's important to verify this with your insurer to confirm you are following the law.

So, what else should you know about auto insurance in Missouri? One important fact is that you must provide proof of insurance at all times, and while registering your vehicle with the DMV. Some acceptable proofs of financial responsibility include a current insurance card or copy, a receipt from the insurance company showing name and vehicle information, the actual insurance policy, or a self-insured card from the Driver and Vehicle Services Bureau (dealers). You are exempt from providing proof of insurance if your vehicle is an official state, federal, or municipal vehicle or you have a commercial vehicle and a "motor carrier's" card instead.

Okay, so you know that you must legally maintain auto insurance in Missouri. But, what happens if you decide to take a risk and forgo purchasing auto insurance? If you get caught without insurance you may be subject to one of the following results - 4 points on your driving record, an order of suspension that subjects you to monitoringArticle Submission, or suspension of your license. If you are in an auto accident and cannot provide proof of insurance you will have to file an SR-22 with the DOR for three years.

You now have a basic familiarity with auto insurance in Missouri. Hopefully you will now be able to obtain insurance quotes and other information as an informed consumer.

Source: Free Articles from ArticlesFactory.com

ABOUT THE AUTHOR


Comfort Insurance provides auto insurance in Missouri along with home and life insurance.  Please visit our homepage to learn how you can get quality insurance at a comfortable price.



Health
Business
Finance
Travel
Technology
Home Repair
Computers
Marketing
Autos
Family
Entertainment
Law
Education
Communication
Other
Sports
ECommerce
Home Business
Self Help
Internet
Partners


Page loaded in 0.145 seconds