Free Articles, Free Web Content, Reprint Articles
Friday, April 19, 2019
Free Articles, Free Web Content, Reprint ArticlesRegisterAll CategoriesTop AuthorsSubmit Article (Article Submission)ContactSubscribe Free Articles, Free Web Content, Reprint Articles

The Grey Cup

The Grey Cup is the name of both the championship of the Canadian Football League and the name of the trophy (Cup) that is awarded to the victorious team (The Grey Cup Winners). The Cup was donated in 1909 by the then Governor General of Canada, Lord Earl Grey.

The cup was to be recognized to the top amateur rugby football team in Canada. At this time Canadian rugby had become extremely different from the rugby union football from which it originated. The Cup, over time, became the property of the Canadian Football League, which is known as the CFL. The CFL had evolved and become a professional league that played Canadian football. The university football teams compete now for the Vanier Cup. Recent changes in the league have brought about the consideration of changing the name of the Grey cup to the name of the current years corporate sponsor. Traditionalists of the CFL have openly objected the idea, stating that the Canadian Football league should not trade a historical and national treasure for shore term leage profit. So far the cup hasn't been renamed!As I mentioned earlier the cup was first used in 1909. Below I have listed every fifth grey cup winner from 1909 up until this year, 2005.

1909 - University of Toronto Varsity Blues (26-6) over the Toronto Parkdale1914 - Toronto Argonauts (14-2) over the University of Toronto1919 - Not held due to the Spanish Flu Pandemic1924 - Queen's University Golden Gaels (11-3) over the Toronto Balmy Beach1929 - Hamilton Tigers (14-3) over the Regina Roughriders1934 - Sarnia Imperials (20-12) over the Regina Roughriders1939 - Winnipeg Blue Bombers (8-7) over the Ottawa Rough Riders1944 - Montreal HMCS (7-6) over the Hamilton Flying Wildcats1949 - Montreal Alouettes (28-15) over the Calgary Stampeder1954 - Edmonton Eskimos (26-25) over the Montreal Alouettes1959 - Winnipeg Blue Bombers (21-7) over the Hamilton Tiger-Cats1964 - B.C. Lions (34-24) over the Hamilton Tiger-Cats1969 - Ottawa Rough Riders (29-11) over the Saskatchewan Roughriders1974 - Montreal Alouettes (20-7) over the Edmonton Eskimos1979 - Edmonton Eskimos (17-9) over the Montreal Alouettes1984 - Winnipeg Blue Bombers (47-17) over the Hamilton Tiger-Cats1989 - Saskatchewan Roughriders (43-40) over the Hamilton Tiger-Cats1994 - B.C. Lions (26-23) over the Baltimore Football Club1999 - Hamilton Tiger-Cats (32-21) over the Calgary Stampeders2004 - Toronto Argonauts (27-19) over the B.C. LionsAmont the active teams here are the overall Grey Cup standings for most wins in the CFL: - Toronto Argonauts: 15 wins - Edmonton Eskimos: 12 wins - Winnipeg Blue Bombers: 10 wins - Hamilton Tiger-Cats: 8 wins - Calgary Stampeders and Montreal Alouettes: 5 wins each - British Columbia Lions: 4 wins - Saskatchewan Roughriders: 2 wins - Ottawa Renegades: 0 wins

Article Tags: Winnipeg Blue Bombers, Canadian Football, Toronto Argonauts, Winnipeg Blue, Blue Bombers, Montreal Alouettes, Edmonton Eskimos

Source: Free Articles from


Feel free to reprint this article as long as you keep the article, this caption and author biography in tact with all hyperlinks.Ryan Fyfe is the owner and operator of All Grey -, which is the best site on the internet for all grey related information.

Home Repair
Home Business
Self Help

Page loaded in 0.235 seconds