Queen of Hill Stations (Ooty)
Ooty also known as Udagamandalam is the "Queen of hill stations" and the capital of Nilgiris district. It is one of the most popular tourist resorts in India. Nilgiris means "Blue Mountains".
If you want to find a cove simple and charming enough for a romantic getaway, there is hardly any place to match the beauty of Ooty. This is one of the most beautiful places that you will ever have the fortune of visiting. Ooty is easily accessible. The nearest airport is the Coimbatore airport which is about 100 km from here. The nearest railway station is Mettupalayam that is about 46 km away from Ooty. It is also well connected by roads. The beauty of Ooty however lies in the beautiful sights and sounds of this hill station that is so remarkably different from any other hill stations.
About Ooty:Ooty is famous for its healthy climate and scenic beauty. For residents of the south it is a delightful place to escape to from the oppressive summer heat. The best thing about Ooty is that it combines the peace and serenity of a hill station with the comforts of urban life. Ooty's colonial legacy extends to very nook and corner, and nowhere is it more apparent than in the Ooty club that is beyond compare.
This region is entirely a group of mountains which are Natural sky scrappers. The Mountains are so high, such that we can see the clouds crossing the way when we Travel. Another important experience which every Traveler gets when they come here is the Dangerous, but thrilling Hair-pin Bends. Our mind would record an excellent scenic Beauty which is immortal when we Travel through this way.
Not only the sceneries But also the minute frame work of Tamilnadu Roadways and valuable support provided by Tourism development corporation of Tamilnadu is seen. Manís desires are endless, But the search of satisfaction and peace is what he seeks in this modern world. This place is definitely such a place where we can forget ourselves by loitering in lawns, fishing, playing Golf & tennis etc. Nature made udagamandalam is definitely a different place in this man made world of inventions.
History of Ooty:It is believed that the name Nila, has been in use for over 800 years since, the King of the Hoysalas Vishnu Vardhana, who ruled from 1104 to 1141 AD seized the Nilgiris Plateau. His general Ponisia recorded this fact in 1117 AD with mention of Todas. The name Nilgiri was due to the blue haze, which envelops the range with most distant hills of considerable size.
This Nilgiri territory came into possession of the East India Company as part of the ceded lands, held by Tipu Sultan, by the treaty of Srirangapatnam in 1799. Rev. Jacome Forico, a priest was the first European who visited Nilgiris in 1603 and released his notes about the place and people of Nilgiris. In 1812 surveyor William Keys and Macmohan visited the top of the plateau.
In 1818, Wishand Kindersley, Assistant and Second Assistant to Collector of Coimbatore visited this spot and submitted their experience report to the Collector of Coimbatore Mr. John Sullivan. Settlement in Udhagamandalam began in 1822 with the construction of the Stone House by John Sullivan, the then Collector of Coimbatore. The bungalow, which is locally called "Kal Bangla", is one of the landmarks of Udhagamandalam and is now the Chamber of the Principal of the Government Arts College.
Source: Free Articles from ArticlesFactory.com
ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Vinay ChoubeySEO Managervinay.firstname.lastname@example.org