A Look At The Different Levels Of ITIL Certification

Feb 20 11:37 2011 Kelsey Libby Print This Article

An overview of the Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL). Specifically, what ITIL Certification is, where to get the best ITIL Training, and why it's critical if you're pursuing a career as an IT professional.

Information Technology Infrastructure Library generally referred to as ITIL is basically comprised of ideas and practices in order to carry out IT operations,Guest Posting IT service management and for the sake of the advancement of IT development. It was created by Central Computer and Telecommunication Agency (U.K) because of the increase in reliance on IT for fulfilling business needs.

Information System Examination Board or ISEB is an association, which provides the ITIL Certification. It came into being in 1967 and is presently running under the patronage of British Computer Society. It trains the representatives for ITIL foundation certificate. ISEB aspires to improve the standard of industry, to support career development and give the employers a competitive advantage by offering them industry-acknowledged qualification, which evaluates proficiency and performance in several aspects of Information System, IS.

EXIN is a Dutch-based self-governing company, which offers ITIL certification. EXIN's key purpose is to make improvements in the Information Communication Technology, ICT area, and create ICT experts by examinations and ITIL certification. It takes care of the educational needs of those who wish to qualify for ITIL certification, and arranges examinations in IT field.

The individuals must be well prepared for the test. Some ITIL certifications demand work experience in the relevant area, because it makes the course work easier to follow, which otherwise is quite difficult to understand. There are three levels to get ITIL certification.

a. ITIL foundation certification in IT service management
b. Practitioner certificate in IT service management
c. ITIL Service Manager Certification

ITIL foundation: it is the very first and basic level of ITIL qualifications. It involves all the basic information related to ITIL Service support and delivery. The important terms and terminology and all the 'how' and 'why' of ITIL are studied extensively at this level. As mentioned earlier it is a basic requirement for the next two levels of ITIL certification.

ITIL Practitioner: the qualification of this level decides how well you know and can confidently apply particular methods in IT Service Management. It is considered as valuable evidence of the practical knowledge of a person in some areas of Service Management.

ITIL Service Manager Certification: this is the highest level of ITIL qualifications and is meant for knowledgeable and well informed professionals who regularly engage in Service Management activities. A certified professional is considered to be skillful in ITIL, both in terms of theory and practice.

Source: Free Guest Posting Articles from ArticlesFactory.com

About Article Author

Kelsey Libby
Kelsey Libby

If you're looking for information about ITIL Certification & Training, we have more great tools and resources on our website http://www.itiltrainingguide.com

View More Articles