Public Free Oregon Death Records

Jul 4


Benj Adrian Prince

Benj Adrian Prince

  • Share this article on Facebook
  • Share this article on Twitter
  • Share this article on Linkedin

Free death certificates are available anytime by the public. But, the individuals must ask for legal permission first from the officiating court to undergo the legal archives application.


Certified copies of vital documents in the state of Oregon are available to the public for a fee. The Oregon State Vital Records office keeps an entire database of public documents from birth and death certificates to marriage licenses and divorce decrees. The Oregon Death Records accessible in this office are from 1903 onwards. Additionally,Public Free Oregon Death Records Articles the city of Portland also has a comprehensive database of death reports ranging from 1862 up to 1902, as well as a state level repository for death accounts from 1903 all the way to 1955.

Individuals requesting certified copies of vital documents will be charged $20 for each copy, and $15 for any additional copies ordered at the same time. Money order or personal checks are payable to the Oregon Health Authority’s Vital Records Division. Their official government website contains the procedures and requirements needed to obtain these types of documents, as well as the current administrative or processing fees. If you don’t have online access, you can give their office a call or visit them in person.

In addition to the Vital Records office, the Oregon State Archives is also a possible source of public information, especially to those conducting a genealogy research. When researching someone’s bloodline or family tree, having a good and reliable source of old public documents can provide you with a huge advantage. Of course, verifying every data you have gathered is still a crucial aspect in the research, but at least when it comes from the state archives, there is a pretty good chance that the information is fairly accurate. Oregon requests will cost $5, while out-of-state requests costs $10.

According to state laws, death reports in the state of Oregon have a fifty-year access restriction. This means that third party access to recently filed reports will only be reserved to family members of the deceased and authorized government workers and agencies. So unless you are the next of kin or have a notarized letter of consent, or a court order from a judge, you cannot obtain certified copies of death certificates that are less than fifty years old. For a death report to be available to the general public for third party access, it has to be at least fifty years or older from the date of the subject’s death.

For many professional researchers and genealogists, a decent online record source is just as effective as any government data portal when it comes to gathering vital information. A number of independent online data providers these days are fully equipped to disseminate any type of vital information to those who want them. Possessing an extensive collection of vital records from every state in the country, most of these data search websites can deliver comprehensive results and complete background histories to genealogists and individuals who are just curious about their romantic partner’s marital history.

For a reasonable one-time fee, you yourself can start tracking your family’s lineage, uncovering an unfaithful partner’s marital background, or simply satisfying your curiosity about your daughter’s new boyfriend. Whether you just want to view your great grandfather’s death record or your parent’s marriage certificate, a good online record provider can deliver that information quite efficiently. All you have to do is register an account and you can start searching right now.

Source: Free Guest Posting Articles from