Navigating the Digital Frontier: Essential Cybersecurity Certifications of 2019

Feb 15


koenig solutions

koenig solutions

  • Share this article on Facebook
  • Share this article on Twitter
  • Share this article on Linkedin

In the digital age, cybersecurity has become a critical concern for individuals and organizations alike. As cyber threats evolve, the demand for skilled professionals to safeguard digital assets is at an all-time high. Cybersecurity certifications not only enhance a professional's skill set but also boost their employability and potential earnings. In 2019, certain cybersecurity certifications stand out for their relevance, rigor, and recognition within the industry. This article delves into the top 10 cybersecurity certifications that can empower professionals to protect against cyber threats effectively.

The Rising Importance of Cybersecurity Expertise

The digital landscape is fraught with threats as hackers continually devise new methods to infiltrate systems and compromise sensitive data. According to a report by Cybersecurity Ventures,Navigating the Digital Frontier: Essential Cybersecurity Certifications of 2019 Articles cybercrime damages are expected to reach $6 trillion annually by 2021. This alarming trend underscores the necessity for robust cybersecurity measures and skilled professionals to implement them.

Top Cybersecurity Certifications of 2019

CISSP: Certified Information Systems Security Professional

The CISSP certification, offered by (ISC)², is a globally recognized credential that validates an individual's expertise in various cybersecurity domains, including risk management and security operations. CISSP holders are often sought after for their ability to provide strategic insights and technical advice. The certification requires renewal every three years through a continuing professional education (CPE) program to ensure that professionals stay current with evolving security trends.

CCSP: Certified Cloud Security Professional

With the proliferation of cloud services, the CCSP certification has become increasingly valuable. This certification, also from (ISC)², in collaboration with the Cloud Security Alliance, equips professionals with the knowledge to secure cloud environments effectively. As more organizations migrate to cloud-based solutions, CCSP-certified individuals are well-positioned to address the unique security challenges of the cloud.

CISA: Certified Information Systems Auditor

The CISA certification, provided by ISACA, is tailored for professionals who audit, control, and assure information systems. The certification covers five domains, including:

  • Auditing information systems
  • IT management and governance
  • Information systems acquisition, development, and implementation
  • IT operations, maintenance, and service management
  • Protection of information assets

CISA-certified auditors play a crucial role in ensuring that an organization's IT and business systems are secure and efficiently managed.

CISM: Certified Information Security Manager

Also offered by ISACA, the CISM certification is designed for individuals who manage, design, and oversee an organization's information security program. CISM-certified professionals are recognized for their understanding of the relationship between information security programs and broader business goals.

CRISC: Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control

The CRISC certification focuses on risk management within IT systems. CRISC professionals help organizations identify and manage IT risk and ensure that appropriate controls are in place. The certification covers areas such as risk identification, assessment, response, and mitigation, as well as risk control, monitoring, and reporting.

CEH: Certified Ethical Hacker

The CEH certification, from the EC-Council, is for professionals who use the same knowledge and tools as malicious hackers to find vulnerabilities in systems before they can be exploited. CEH-certified professionals are experts in reconnaissance, vulnerability assessment, and other key aspects of ethical hacking. A CEH certification can significantly enhance a cybersecurity professional's ability to protect their organization.

ECSA: EC-Council Certified Security Analyst

Formerly known as the Licensed Penetration Tester, the ECSA certification trains professionals in security analysis and penetration testing methodologies. ECSA-certified analysts are adept at identifying system weaknesses and recommending solutions to fortify security.

CHFI: Computer Hacking Forensic Investigator

The CHFI certification is for professionals who investigate cybercrimes and analyze attacks. CHFI-certified investigators play a vital role in identifying attackers, understanding their methods, and preventing future incidents.

GPEN: GIAC Penetration Tester

Offered by the Global Information Assurance Certification (GIAC), the GPEN certification is for professionals with hands-on experience in penetration testing and ethical hacking. GPEN-certified individuals are skilled in legal issues related to penetration testing and vulnerability assessment.

GSEC: GIAC Security Essentials Certification

The GSEC certification is an intermediate-level credential that validates a professional's ability to handle a wide range of security tasks. GSEC certification holders have proven their skills in practical scenarios and are prepared for advanced cybersecurity roles.

Conclusion: The Path to Cybersecurity Mastery

Cybersecurity certifications are more than just accolades; they represent a commitment to mastering the skills necessary to protect the digital world. As cyber threats continue to evolve, these certifications will remain crucial for professionals seeking to stay ahead in the field. With the right certification, cybersecurity professionals can expect to find rewarding career opportunities and contribute to the safety and security of our digital infrastructure.