Gluten-Free Diet

Sep 4 09:09 2009 Gail Cole Print This Article

Article explains what a Gluten Free Diet is and why some people are required to eat only Gluten-Free.

Celiac disease is an auto-immune disease that is triggered by the consumption of gluten. There has been some evidence herpetiformis is related to gluten intolerance. Gluten is protein found in grains like wheat,Guest Posting rye, barley and other related grains. Patients with celiac disease the lining of the small intestines is injured by gluten. Injured intestines results in weight loss, bloating, diarrhea, gas, abdominal cramps and nutritional deficiencies. If gluten is removed from the diet the intestinal lining has a chance to heal.

If you have celiac disease you should remain on a gluten-free diet throughout life. A registered dietitian should be consulted. Removing gluten from your diet is not easy. Grains are used in the preparation of many foods. Reading the ingredient’s name may not disclosure the inclusion of gluten. Examples would be oats. Oaks are suppose to be safe for gluten patients but have been known to be cross-contaminated if processed in the same facilities as wheat.

Many products that you may touch have Gluten included:

Food additives, malt flavoring, modified food starch and etc.

Some medications and vitamins that use gluten as a binding agent

Lipstick and lip balms

Toothpaste

Postage stamps

Play dough

Foods to Avoid:

Wheat

Breads

Barley

Cereals

Rye

Crackers

Farina

Croutons

Graham flour

Pasta

Semolina

Cookies

Durham

Cakes & Pies

Bulgur

Soups

Kamut

Gravies

Matzo meal

Sauces(including soy sauce)

Spelt

Salad dressings

Tritical

Beer

Oaks(maybe contaminated)

Candy

Amaranth

Imitation meat or seafood

Buckwheat

Processed lunch

meat

Quinoa

Self-basting poultry

Gluten Free Safe Foods:

Fresh poultry, fish and meats ( cannot be marinated, breaded or basted coated

Most dairy products

Fresh fruits

Fresh vegetables

Rice

Potatoes

Gluten free flours (rice, soy, corn, potato)

Wine and distilled liquors, ciders and spirits

“Gluten-Free” produces are safe. There are an increasing number of Gluten-Free products on the market. Additionally, there are gluten free substitutes for gluten-containing foods. If you cannot find gluten-free products at your local market try specialty grocery stores. For more information check with a Celiac Support Group.

Gluten-Free Diet: GF Recipes: Orange Mint Rice Salad

Ingredients

3 oranges3 cups cooked rice1/3 cup golden raisins1/3 cup chopped fresh mint leaves1/2 cup chopped walnutsSalt and pepper to taste

Directions

Peel and segment two oranges; set aside. Squeeze juice from remaining orange; set aside.

In a large bowl, combine rice, orange segments, raisins, mint and walnuts. Add orange juice; toss well. Salt and pepper to taste.Yield: 6 servingsRecipe courtesy of USA Rice Federation at. www.usarice.com

Gluten-Free Diet: GF Recipes: Baked Chicken Supreme

Ingredients

1 frying chicken, skinned and cut into pieces1 green pepper, cut into strips1 clove garlic, pressed1/4 cup scallions, chopped1 cup GF chicken stock1 teaspoon tarragon1/2 cup margarine or butter2 tomatoes, cut into wedges1 teaspoon paprika1 t salt

Directions

Sprinkle chicken with garlic and paprika and brown on in 1/4 cup of margarine. Remove from pan. Add rest of margarine and sauté mushrooms, onions and green pepper. Return chicken to pan. Add chicken stock, tarragon, tomatoes and salt. Simmer for 1 hour or until chicken is tender. Serve over rice.

Provided by: Celiac Sprue Association

Note: “Wheat-Free” does not mean gluten free. These products may still contain gluten.

Paleo Gluten Free Cookbookhttp://www.favoriterecipes.biz/paleo.html

Favorite Recipe Cookbooks: Collection of different favorite recipe cookbooks from around the world.http://www.favoriterecipes.biz

Source: Free Guest Posting Articles from ArticlesFactory.com

About Article Author

Gail Cole
Gail Cole

Writer on various diets.

View More Articles